Posted by: raker | 10 August 2010

Recovering from chemo 5…

…and I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck – it’s the steroids not the chemo, but nevertheless am taking it v. easy today. Kids are at nursery, MIL is here, we are watching His Girl Friday, drinking tea, and munching a big bag of sweets from the new sweetshop in town.  I’m still in my jammies…

Anyway, yesterday I had a little burst of energy and did something fabulous with the home-grown cucumbers MIL brought up with her/ From the late Elspeth Thompson’s fabulous Reclaim the Weekend book, Cucmber & Dill pickle. Absolutely GORGEOUS:

Courgette and dill pickle

for four 450g jars

  • 3 large cucumbers (or 6 courgettes)
  • 2 large onions
  • 50g coarse salt
  • 450g soft brown sugar
  • 600ml cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp whole mustard seeds
  • a large handful of fresh dill

Thinly slice the cucumbers and onions, using a mandoline if possible. Layer with salt in a dish, and weight down with a plate and some tins. Leave it for at least four hours, then drain and rinse really, really, well in a big colander. You want to get all the salt out.

Dissolve the sugar in the vinegar, then add the vegetables, mustard seeds and dill. Bring to the boil. After one minute, drain, reserving the liquid. Boil to a syrup (reduce by around one third). Put the vegetables in sterilised jars. Cover with juices, and seal. Refrigerate once opened.

Delicious!

Responses

  1. Ah, steroids… yes, I’ve been there for many years. You’ll have highs and lows with them. The highs are incredible, you will feel like superwoman! I’ve managed the lows with good films, books and lots of tissues because you will cry for no apparent reason! Make sure your family gives you lots of hugs but I’m pretty sure they do already. Hope you feel better soon!

    • Oh Franziska, thanks for that! I feel a lot better now, but have come down with stupid cold again. I blame my filthy baby. I *have* been feeling weepy – and that’s not like me, so I’m glad there’s another reason.

      Also, thanks for your mail, so glad for you it’s not another unknown to worry about!


Leave a Reply

Categories

